We have lots of great news to share about many outstanding UNC Press books! Recently our authors have been showered with awards and prizes.

It was just announced that Laura F. EdwardsThe People and Their Peace: Legal Culture and the Transformation of Inequality in the Post-Revolutionary South was awarded the 2010 Charles S. Sydnor Award by the Southern Historical Association. The SHA also awarded the 2010 C. Vann Woodward Dissertation Prize to Robert Gilpin’s “John Brown still lives! America’s long reckoning with violence, equality, and change,” a revised version of which UNC Press will publish in fall 2011.

The verdict is also in the favor of titles in our Studies in Legal History series. The Postsecondary Education Division of the American Educational Research Association named Bruce A. Kimball’s The Inception of Modern Professional Education: C. C. Langdell, 1826–1906, the 2009 Outstanding Publication of the Year. Catherine L. Fisk’s Working Knowledge: Employee Innovation and the Rise of Corporate Intellectual Property, 1800-1930, received both the 2010 Littleton-Griswold Prize from the American Historical Association and the 2010 John Philip Reid Prize from the American Society for Legal History.

Praise from the AHA continues with Michael J. Jarvis’s In the Eye of All Trade: Bermuda, Bermudians, and the Maritime Atlantic World, 1680-1683, which received the 2010 James A. Rawley Prize in Atlantic History. Susan E. Klepp received the 2010 Joan Kelly Memorial Prize for Revolutionary Conceptions: Women, Fertility, and Family Limitation in America, 1760-1820.

Our Civil War America titles are also having a great year. Daniel E. Sutherland’s A Savage Conflict: The Decisive Role of Guerrillas in the American Civil War has been on a winning spree with the 2010 Tom Watson Brown Book Award from the Society of Civil War Historians and the Society for Military History’s 2010 Distinguished Book Award. Joan Waugh’s U. S. Grant: American Hero, American Myth has shared similar success with the 2010 William Henry Seward Award for Excellence in Civil War Biography from the Civil War Forum of Metropolitan New York, and was named a Washington Post Critic’s Favorite Book of 2009. For the first time ever, the Museum of the Confederacy honored two winners for the 2009 Jefferson Davis Award, and guess what? Yes, that’s right, it is these very titles that get to share this award!

Titles from the John Hope Franklin Series in African American History and Culture have also been successful. Lisa Levenstein’s A Movement Without Marches: African American Women and the Politics of Poverty in Postwar Philadelphia won the 2009 Kenneth Jackson Book Award for Best Book in North American Urban History from the Urban History Association. Examining Tuskegee: The Infamous Syphilis Study and Its Legacy, by Susan M. Reverby, earned the 2010 Ralph Waldo Emerson Award from the Phi Beta Kappa Society and the 2010 Arthur J. Viseltear Award from the Medical Care Section of the American Public Health Association.

Jan Hoffman French’s Legalizing Identities: Becoming Black or Indian in Brazil’s Northwest received the Best Book honor from the Brazil section of the Latin American Studies Association. Red and Black in Haiti: Radicalism, Conflict, and Political Change, 1934–1957, by Matthew J. Smith, won both the 2010 Gordon K. and Sybil Lewis Prize from the Caribbean Studies Association and the 2009 Principal’s Award for Best Book from the University of the West Indies.

Charles W. Eagles The Price of Defiance: James Meredith and the Integration of Ole Miss has been on quite a streak, winning the 2010 McLemore Prize from the Mississippi Historical Society, the 2010 Mississippi Institute of Arts and Letters Award for Nonfiction, and the 2009 Mississippi Humanities Council Special Recognition Award. Patricia Phillips Marshall and Jo Ramsay Leimenstoll won the 2010 Ragan Old North State Award from the NC Literary and Historical Association for Thomas Day: Master Craftsman and Free Man of Color.

Finally, John L. Brooke’s Columbia Rising: Civil Life on the Upper Hudson from the Revolution to the Age of Jackson won the 2010 Dixon Ryan Fox Manuscript Prize from the New York State Historical Association.

Phew. That was a mouthful! But I suppose listing so many prizewinning books is a wonderful problem to have.

And don’t forget to check out the Holiday Sale!